Posted by: Marcus | June 6, 2007

Epson 1290s With CFS

Hi Guys & Gals,

1280bb1.jpg

Example of the system for the 1290s from inksupply.com

On a separate note I have now been using a continuous ink system with my old Epson 1290s for one month now and I thought I would let you know how it’s been.

I have had the printer for about 4/5 years and it was unused for the last two years in favour of the Xerox Phaser 7750 printer we had in the office. Excellent machine by the way.

As we no longer have the Xerox, we needed something to use for proofs. I always got on with the Epson 1290 when I was using it, but the cost of the cartridges was totally crazy.

I had heard of CFS system before, but the comments varied wildly on it’s effectiveness. I decided to do some reseach, read a few forums and ordered a full kit (cartridges, ink and mountings) from http://www.inksupply.com

Although they are in the states and I am in the Canary Isalnds, the product took less than a week to ship here. Very impressed.

Set-up was straight forward, although if you are not used to fiddling inside electronics it could be a little tricky.

As the printer had been unused for so very long, it was totally dried up inside. It took ages and ages of cleaning cycles and printing a purge sheet over and over again to get the colours through. If you have a working printer you would not have this problem although you would have to purge the old ink through the system first.

Once working it has been like a dream come true. I can now print without a single thought to the cost on the ink. I have already done 100’s of prints and the bottles (4oz in each) have barely started to empty.

We have even been able to offer short run colour flyers printed of 180gsm photo card (4 Euros for a pack of 100) to our clients for only 39 Euros per 100.

I am currently trying to pick up a second hand Epson 1290s (I know a man!) so we can get production of the short-run inkjet printing up.

I would happily recommend this system to anyone.

Check out http://www.inksupply.com (where I purchased mine) or http://www.inkrepublic.com (who come highly recommended too). On that note I have heard terrible things about the system that are sold via ebay, etc. They are meant to block head, leak and generally waste you time. So dont be a cheapskate, buy I proper system.

Do you have the same system? Have you got anything to say on the matter? I would love to here your experiences.


Leave a comment

Categories