Posted by: Marcus | June 20, 2007

What a machine!

Ok guys… got it all up and running without the need for the Canon engineers. To be honest, as long as you have someone with you to help with the heavy lifting, it is all very straightforward. Canon wanted 200 euros to come and do that.Printed of the first few images and I must say the quality is outstanding. I have never-ever seen anything comparable or even close. The way is can handle gradients in the sky and water is amazing.Now playing around with different papers and canvases. With give you all a full report soon. Have noticed that Kodak’s Glossy Photo is much better than Canon’s Glossy Photo. Plus Kodak is a fair bit cheaper. Full report coming soon.  


Responses

  1. This is truely an impressive printer. The quality we get is outstanding. Currently printing direct from Photoshop CS3 using the export utility… no need for a rip ;o)… at 16bit and max dpi the gradations are super smooth, and with a Canon generic profile and Non Canon Media!! It can only get better when my i1 turns up.iii if that’s possible.
    Had an issue with Canon when first installed as it had 2140 prints on the clock. They said it was when they soak test them… curious what yours had?? Each click is for an a4 so for example on an A2 it clicks 4 times.

  2. Hi Chris,

    Thanks for your comment.

    I must agree that this is one excellent printer. I have been so busy since I installed it that I haven’t even had time to post on here.

    I did have some trouble centering the prints from CS3, so I switched back to CS2 on the machine that the printer is connected to and all worked well.

    I will try and get you that print number today too.


Leave a comment

Categories